Tom Rogerson Shares New Track, “March Away” Along With Live Performance Video :: UK Tour Dates This Month

Tom Rogerson is pleased to share a new track “March Away”, taken from his forthcoming album entitled Finding Shorea collaboration with Brian Enoout 8th December. A perfect example of the studio setting the two artists worked within – Tom improvising at the piano and Brian twisting those signals with the Moog Piano Bar – the track is a prime introduction to this unique release.

To accompany the track’s release, a live studio version of the track is also available. Directed by Robert Sieg and shot in Berlin on Nov 20th, the performance beautifully illustrates the processes Rogerson and Eno used to create the original work.

Listen to the original version here & Pre-Order the album:
https://tomrogerson.lnk.to/FindingShore

Tom will be playing an intimate headline show at St Pancras Old Church on December 4th.

Finding Shore is the sound of Rogerson distilling the essence of what he does after a protracted musical journey from childhood until now. He took the traditional route of music lessons and learning notation before starting composing “properly”. As a 17-year-old he had the odd contrast of being taught by the composer Harrison Birtwistle but also working as lounge pianist in a dilapidated hotel in Peterborough.

He spent some time in New York playing jazz, recording with Reid Anderson of The Bad Plus, and had a successful career with post-rock group Three Trapped Tigers, yet however enjoyable that experience was, he admits it was “definitely a diversionary tactic”. Everything seemed to be an escape from the classical world or, as Rogerson himself puts it, “falling out of my ivory tower very slowly”.

Upon meeting Eno, the pair didn’t speak about music at all, but bonded over their roots in the Suffolk town of Woodbridge, located on the strange flat landscape of Eastern England, all heathland, military testing sites, estuary mud and the site of the ancient Sutton Hoo ship burial.

Eno’s influence on Finding Shore began by enabling Rogerson to overcome his fear of committing any one piece to its own album. As a way to open Rogerson up, Eno suggested they try experimenting with the Piano Bar, an obscure piece of Moog gear that works by using infrared beams focussed on each piano key; these are then broken as the keys are played, transforming the piano’s note into a midi signal that can then be used to trigger or generate new, digital sound. As Rogerson improvised at the piano, Eno improvised with the midi signal to create a unique piece of music.

The chance meeting with Eno and subsequent conversation about the Suffolk landscape did find its way into Finding Shore. “I do totally hear it, I’ll listen and think ‘oh that sounds like the bells at Woodbridge, that’s the birds, the wind rustling in the reeds’. I think it permeates my music, and Brian’s ambient records. That ‘is it organic or is it electronic thing’ is so interesting”.

Album launch show date
December 4 – St Pancras Old Church, London


Tom Rogerson with Brian Eno
Finding Shore
Pre-order here:
https://tomrogerson.lnk.to/FindingShore


www.tomrogerson.com

Watch Phoebe Bridgers’ NPR Music Tiny Desk Concert, Listen to Her Holiday Cover of “Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas”

Phoebe BridgersNPR Music Tiny Desk Concert debuted online today, featuring live versions of her songs “Motion Sickness,” “Killer,” and “Demi Moore.” watch it now HERE. All three songs are featured on her debut album Stranger In The Alps, released on September 22nd to sweeping acclaim from outlets including Pitchfork, Billboard, The FADER, Vulture, Stereogum, Bandcamp, Uproxx, W Magazine, and Under The Radar, among many others.

Bridgers also released a holiday cover of “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” last week, which you can listen to at the bottom of this blog post. Bridgers will perform next at a sold out hometown record release show in Los Angeles on December 16th at Lodge Room Highland Park. Earlier this fall, she toured throughout North America with Conor Oberst, The War On Drugs, and Noah Gundersen, and more touring news for 2018 will be announced soon.

Produced by Tony Berg and Ethan Gruska, and mixed by Mike Mogis, the ten haunting and introspective songs on Stranger In The Alps further introduce the 22-year-old Bridgers as a singular voice. There is a delicate balance to her work, a dance between veiled narratives and earnest emotions, between whispers and shouts. Throughout the album, Bridgers contemplates and reflects on personal experiences through her unique lyric writing perspective: there are overt references to lost idols, canonical pop songs and actual incidents, but her stories unfold through specific, evocative imagery sung in her subtle, confessional style. And according to Bridgers, everything you hear has arrived by feeling; her music is what comes when she is at her most honest, without specific intention, and she aims to be in her songs the person she is in the world.

Stream and/or Purchase “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas” —
https://PhoebeBridgers.lnk.to/christmas

Stream and/or Purchase Stranger In The Alps
https://PhoebeBridgers.lnk.to/strangerinthealps

Watch Alex Lahey Make Her Network Television Debut on Late Night With Seth Meyers

Last night, Alex Lahey took the stage at Late Night With Seth Meyers to make her network television debut. Lahey and her band — composed of Lahey (vocals, guitar), Sam Humphrey (guitar), Jonathan Skourletos (bass), and Lachie McGeehan (drums) — performed “Every Day’s The Weekend,” the blazing opener from Lahey’s acclaimed debut album, I Love You Like A Brother, out now. Check out the performance below.

Earlier this week, Lahey kicked off her first North American tour in support of I Love You Like A Brother at Great Scott in Boston. To celebrate the expansive tour, which takes Lahey and her band all across the east coast, midwest, south, and west coast, Lahey is sharing a special solo version of Brother closer “There’s No Money,” which premiered yesterday via Brooklyn Vegan. The intimate performance was captured by Gabe Wax in early October at Rare Book Room in NY.

Tonight, Lahey and her band play World Cafe Live in Philadelphia. A full list of upcoming tour dates can be found at the bottom of the blog post.

Stream and/or Purchase I Love You Like A Brother
https://alexlahey.lnk.to/brother

Alex Lahey Tour Dates:
Fri. Nov. 17 – Philadelphia, PA @ World Cafe Live
Sun. Nov. 19 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Wed. Nov. 22 – Toronto, ON @ The Drake Hotel – Underground
Fri. Nov. 24 – Chicago, IL @ Subterranean
Sat. Nov. 25th – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Wed. Nov. 29 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada
Thu. Nov. 30 – Austin, TX @ Barracuda
Sat. Dec. 2 – Denver, CO @ Lost Lake Lounge
Sun. Dec. 3 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Tue. Dec. 5 – Phoenix, AZ @ The Rebel Lounge
Wed. Dec. 6 – San Diego, CA @ The Casbah
Fri. Dec. 8 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sat.Dec. 9 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
Mon. Dec. 11 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios
Tue. Dec. 12 – Vancouver, BC @ The Cobalt
Wed. Dec. 13 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey

Shame Announce Debut Album ‘Songs Of Praise’ :: Out January 12th

We’re so happy to announce the debut album from Britain’s most exciting young band, Shame. Songs of Praise is out January 12th, 2018, and the video for new single “One Rizla” is available to watch now.

Shot on a farm in Lancashire, the video sees the young band’s first, moderately successful and entertaining foray into farm-work, with a less than amused patriarch overseeing their work. It’s directly related to the album artwork for Songs of Praise with singer Charlie Steen stating ‘We wanted to turn the album artwork into the video for ‘One Rizla’, highlighting our vulnerability as individuals whilst paying homage to Withnail & I simultaneously.”

The track itself is the first song the band wrote together. “I think that’s reflected in the simplicity of it,” Steen states. A song about embracing insecurity as a strength, he continues, “It’s honest and raw, whilst attempting a stab at number one in the pop charts across the Eastern hemisphere.”

The London five piece have swiftly earned a reputation as one of the most visceral and exhilarating live bands in the UK, their combustible shows being honed through a heavy touring schedule in the UK – including an incredible sold out show at the Scala and a personal invite by Billy Bragg to play the Left Field stage at Glastonbury this year. The band is currently bringing their live show to the East Coast, and recently announced 2018 dates as well.


Pre-order Songs Of Praise
https://shame.lnk.to/songsofpraise

Songs Of Praise Tracklisting
1. Dust On Trial
2. Concrete
3. One Rizla
4. The Lick
5. Tasteless
6. Donk
7. Gold Hole
8. Friction
9. Lampoon
10. Angie

Shame Tour Dates (new dates in bold)
Wed. Nov. 15 – New York, NY @ Home Sweet Home
Thu. Nov. 16 – Allston, MA @ The Great Scott
Fri. Nov. 17 – Montreal, QC @ M for Montreal
Sat. Nov. 18 – Toronto, ON @ Hard Luck
Sun. Nov. 19 – Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place
Mon. Nov. 20 – Arden, DE @ Arden Gild Hall +
Fri. Dec. 1 – Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere
Sun. Dec. 3 – Frankfurt, DE @ Zoom *
Mon. Dec. 4 – Heidelburg, DE @ Halle O2 *
Wed. Dec. 6 – Köln, DE @ Gebäude 9 *
Thu. Dec. 7 – Munster, DE @ Gleis 22 *
Fri. Dec. 8 – Essen, DE @ Hotel Shanghai *
Sat. Dec. 9 – Dresden, DE @ Groove Station *
Mon. Dec. 11 – Hannover, DE @ Bei Chez Heinz *
Tue. Dec. 12 – Bremen, DE @ Lagerhaus *
Wed. Dec. 13 – Hamburg, DE @ Knust *
Thu. Dec. 14 – Braunschweig, DE @ Eule *
Fri. Dec. 15 – Rostock, DE @ Helgas Stadtpalast *
Sat. Dec. 16 – Berlin @ Festaal Kreuzberg *
Fri. Feb. 2 – Adelaide, AU @ Laneway Festival
Sat. Feb. 3 – Melbourne, AU @ Laneway Festival
Sun. Feb. 4 – Sydney, AU @ Laneway Festival
Sat. Feb. 10 – Brisbane, AU @ Laneway Festival
Sun. Feb. 11 – Perth, AU @ Laneway Festival
Fri. Feb. 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo
Sat. Feb. 17 – San Francisco, CA @ Brick & Mortar Music Hall
Mon. Feb. 19 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir Lounge
Tue. Feb. 20 – Seattle, WA @ Chop Suey
Thu. Feb. 22 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas
Fri. Feb. 23 – Bloomington, IN @ The Bishop
Sat. Feb. 24 – Columbus, OH @ Spacebar
Sun. Mar. 11 – Mesa, AZ @ Underground
Mon. Mar. 12 – Fri. Mar. 15 – Austin, TX @ SXSW
Sat. Mar. 16 – Houston, TX @ Walter’s &
Sun. Mar. 17 – New Orleans, LA @ Hi-Lo Lounge &
Mon. Mar. 18 – Atlanta, GA @ The Masquerade &
Tue. Mar. 19 – Asheville, NC @ The Mothlight &
Wed. Mar. 20 – Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle &
Thu. Mar. 21 – Baltimore, MD @ Ottobar &
Wed. Apr. 4 – Cardiff, UK @ Club Ifor Bach
Thu. Apr. 5 – Bristol, UK @ Thekla
Fri. Apr. 6 – Liverpool, UK @ Magnet
Sat. Apr. 7 – Dublin, IE @ Whelans
Mon. Apr. 9 – Sheffield, UK @ The Leadmill
Tue. Apr. 10 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club
Wed. Apr. 11 – Newcastle, UK @ Cluny
Thu. Apr. 12 – Glasgow, UK @ Stereo
Fri. Apr. 13 – Manchester, UK @ Gorilla
Sat. Apr. 14 – Nottingham, UK @ Rescue Rooms
Mon. Apr. 16 – Leicester, UK @ The Cookie
Tue. Apr. 17 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds
Wed. Apr. 18 – London, UK @ Electric Ballroom
Thu. Apr. 19 – Oxford, UK @ The Bullingdon
Fri. Apr. 20 – Brighton, UK @ The Haunt
Sat. Apr. 21 – Tunbridge Wells, UK @ The Forum
Wed. Apr. 25 – Nijmegan, NL @ Doornroosje
Thu. Apr. 26 – Amsterdam, NL @ Melkweg
Fri. Apr. 27 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown
Mon. Apr. 30 – Oslo, NO @ John Dee
Wed. May 2 – Stockholm, SE @ Bar Brooklyn
Thu. May 3 – Copenhagen, DK @ Pumpehuset
Sun. May 6 – Warsaw, PL @ Bardzo Bardzo
Mon. May 7 – Prague, CZ @ Futurum
Tue. May 8 – Vienna, AT @ Chelsea
Fri. May 11 – Zurich, CH @ Dynamo Werk
Sat. May 12 – Bologna, IT @ Covo Club
Mon. May 14 – Barcelona, ES @ Side Car
Tue. May 15 – Madrid, ES @ La Boite
Thu. May 17 – Bordeaux, FR @ Rock School Barbery
Sun. May 20 – Lille, FR @ Aeronef
Tue. May 22 – Brussels, BE @ Rotonde

+ with Ought
* with Gurr
& with Snail Mail

Shame Online:
https://shamebanduk.bandcamp.com/
https://www.facebook.com/shamebanduk/
https://twitter.com/shamebanduk
https://www.instagram.com/shame/

tour dates

12/13/17

Tokyo, Japan - Shibuya-Onest

12/14/17

Beijing, China - Yugong Yishan

12/15/17

Shanghai, China - Yuyintang

12/16/17

Hong Kong, China - Mom Livehouse

12/19/17

Manila, Philippines - Mow's

12/20/17

Singapore, Malaysia - Decline

12/21/17

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia - Play Sapce
See all upcoming shows »

video