LISTEN // Stream Marlon Williams’ Debut Album Via CBC Music, KEXP, KCMP, & KCRW, Tour Dates With Sam Beam (Iron And Wine) And Jesca Hoop

 
New Zealand’s Marlon Williams is quickly gaining recognition across the globe for his exceptionally evocative voice and remarkable stage presence. He’s just completed his first headline North American tour, selling out multiple cities, and culminating with a performance this morning on Chicago’s WGN Morning News. Following the release of his self-titled, debut album on Feb. 19 via Dead Oceans, Marlon will head to SXSW and then embark on his second North American tour, this time supporting Sam Beam (of Iron & Wine) and Jesca Hoop. Marlon (guitar, vocals) will be joined by Ben Woolley (bass/vocals). All dates are below.

 

Stream Marlon Williams’ Album Via CBC Music, KEXP, KCMP & KCRW:

http://music.cbc.ca/blogs/2016/2/First-Play-Marlon-Williams-self-titled

http://blog.kexp.org/2016/02/11/album-premiere-marlon-williams-marlon-williams/

http://www.thecurrent.org/feature/2016/02/11/marlon-williams-album-preview

http://www.kcrw.com/music/shows/album-preview/marlon-williams-marlon-williams/#

 

Order the album now:

 

Marlon Williams Tour Dates:

Sun. Feb. 28 – Perth, WA @ Perth International Arts Festival

Sat. March 5 – Melbourne, AU @ Melbourne Zoo

Wed. March 9 – Auckland, NZ @ Powerstation

Fri. March 11 – Sydney, AU @ Taronga Zoo

Sat. March 12 – Lonestar Valley, TAS @ A Festival Called Panama

Sun. March 13 – Mon. March 14 – Adelaide, SA @ Womadelaide

Tue. March 15 – Sun. March 20 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

Tue. April 5 – Nottingham, UK @ Bodega Social Club

Wed. April 6 – Bristol, UK @ The Louisiana

Thu. April 7 – London, UK @ St. Giles in the Fields

Fri. April 8 – Brighton, UK @ The Hope and Ruin

Mon. April 11 – Berlin, GE @ Privatclub

Tue. April 12 – Hamburg, GE @ Nochtspeicher

Wed. April 13 – Cologne, GE @ YUCA

Thu. April 14 – Paris, FR @ Le Pop Up Du Label

Fri. April 15- Bourges, FR @ Le Printemps de Bourges

Sat. April 16 – Brussels, BE @ Ancienne Belgique

Mon. April 18 – Dublin, IR @ Whelan’s

Tue. April 19 – Manchester, UK @ The Night and Day Café

Wed. April 20 – Glasgow, UK @ King Tut’s Wah Wah Hut

Thu. April 21 – Birmingham, UK @ Hare & Hounds

Tue. May 17 – Ann Arbor, MI @ The Ark *

Wed. May 18 – Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall *

Fri. May 20 – New York, NY @ The Town Hall *

Sat. May 21 – Washington, DC @ Lincoln Theatre *

Sun. May 22 – Boston, MA @ Wilbur Theatre *

Tue. May 24 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer *

Thu. May 26 – Atlanta, GA @ Buckhead Theatre *

Fri. May 27 – New Orleans, LA @ The Civic Theatre *

Sat. May 28 – Dallas, TX @ The Kessler Theater *

Mon. May 30 – Tucson, AZ @ The Rialto Theatre *

Tue. May 31 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre *

Thu. Jun. 2 – San Francisco @ Great American Music Hall *

Fri. Jun. 3 – Portland, OR @ Aladdin Theater *

Sat. Jun. 4 – Seattle, WA @ Neptune Theatre *

Sun. Jun. 5 – Boise, ID @ Egyptian Theatre *

Tue. Jun. 7 – Boulder, CO @ Boulder Theater *

Wed. Jun. 8 – Omaha, NE @ Slowdown *

Thu. Jun. 9 – Minneapolis, MN @ Varsity Theater *

Fri. Jun. 10 – Milwaukee, WI @ Turner Hall Ballroom *

Sat. Jun. 11 – Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall *

* with Sam Beam (of Iron & Wine) and Jesca Hoop

WATCH // Kevin Morby Releases Video For “I Have Been To The Mountain,” Shares Expanded Tour Dates (Incl. SXSW)

 

Today, Kevin Morby shares the first video and single off his forthcoming record, Singing Saw, out 4/15 on Dead Oceans. “I Have Been To The Mountain” is as angry a song as Kevin has written, which can almost be gleaned from the purposeful opening acoustic strum. “‘I Have Been To The Mountain’ is a song for those struck down by the hands of evil – senseless killings which have always overwhelmed our planet, but especially recently,” says Morby. “It’s dedicated to and inspired by the death of Eric Garner.

 

The video, directed by Phillip Lopez and starring dancer Nathan Mitchell, portrays a man on his deathbed that, upon death, is reborn as an exuberant and jovial presence, performing for no audience in glum surroundings. Perhaps just as interesting as the video and song is how Kevin and Phillip came to collaborate. Phillip had produced a short film called “Fred Astaire with a stomach full of Corn Chips and Valium” starring Mitchell and featuring his emotive dancing, which used Kevin’s song “Harlem River,” though it was uncredited. Morby loved the video, and reached out to Lopez asking for him to credit his song, which he happily did. When it came time to create a video for Singing Saw‘s first single, Kevin knew whom to tap for the job. Mitchell’s almost Buster Keaton-esque mannerisms are captivating to behold. “Kevin wanted to embrace the dancing of Nathan,” said Lopez, “and I had remembered a time in the hospital when a man was dying in the bed next to me, and his family was wailing in grief.  The moment he died, they were all silent, and i felt as if his soul danced around the place.  To me the message of the song resonated with this sort of nostalgic sagely wisdom, that empowers us even in death.”

 

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:
Support your local independent record store: http://smarturl.it/kevinmorby_indie

 

KEVIN MORBY TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):

(more info and tix here)

Thu. Feb. 25 – Rennes, FR @ La Route du Rock Winter Festival

Wed. Mar 16 – Fri. Mar. 18 – Austin, TX @ SXSW

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney

Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie

Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210

Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet

Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido

Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse

Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik

Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet

Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

Thu. June 2 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *

Fri. June 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ Bootleg Theater *

Sat. June 4 – Santa Cruz, CA @ The Crepe Place *

Mon. June 6 – Portland, OR @ Mississippi Studios *

Tue. June 7 – Vancouver, BC @ Media Club *

Wed. June 8 – Seattle, WA @ Tractor Tavern *

Fri. June 10 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kliby Court *

Sat. June 11 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge *

Sun. June 12 – Kansas City, MO @ Riot Room *

Tue. June 14 0 Minneapolis, MN @ 7th St. Entry *

Wed. June 15 – Chicago, IL @ Schubas *

Thu. June 16 – Grand Rapids , MI @ Pyramid Scheme *

Fri. June 17 – Toronto, ON @ The Great Hall *

Sun. June 19 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott *

Mon. June 20 – Philadelphia, PA @ Boot & Saddle *

Wed. June 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade NYC *

Thu. June 23 – Washington, DC @ Rock and Roll Hotel *

Fri. June 24 – Durham, NC @ The Pinhook *

Sat. June 25 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *

Sun. June 26 – Nashville, TN @ 3rd & Lindsley

Tue. June 28 – Dallas, TX @ Club Dada

Wed. June 29 – Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder

Sat. July 2 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah

Thu. Aug 4 – Sun. Aug. 8 – Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

 

* w/ Jaye Bartell

WATCH // Kevin Morby Shares Trailer For ‘Singing Saw,’ Out April 15th

 
On April 15th, Kevin Morby will release his third record, and first for Dead Oceans, Singing Saw. It is a record of duality, one that marks another stage of growth for this young, gifted songwriter with a kind face and a complicated mind.

 

In the autumn of 2014, Kevin Morby moved to the small, hilly Los Angeles neighborhood of Mount Washington. The move would shape Singing Saw. Previous tenants at Morby’s new home happened to leave an upright piano behind, with a few mysterious pieces of sheet music and an introductory book of common chords stacked on top. Thankful to finally be in one place for an extended spell, Morby, a beginner at the piano, immediately sat at the new instrument and began composing the songs that would form Singing Saw.

 

Alongside, he began taking long walks through the winding hills and side streets of the neighborhood each night, glimpsing views of both the skyline’s sweeping lights and the dark, dried out underbrush of the LA flora. The duality of the city itself began to shape a set of lyrical ideas that he would refine with the sparse accompaniment of piano and acoustic guitar.

 

The arrangements of Singing Saw trace back to Morby’s experience playing in The Complete Last Waltz, a live recreation of The Band’s legendary last performance. There, Morby developed a fast friendship with producer/bandleader Sam Cohen (Apollo Sunshine, Yellowbirds), which led Morby to forgo recording in Los Angeles and take the nascent songs of Singing Saw to Isokon Studios in Woodstock, New York. There, in a converted A-frame house, they set about creating a record that would bring a sonic balance, intricacy and depth to match these songs and all that inspired them. Morby and Cohen (who added guitar, bass, drums and keyboard) were joined by fellow Complete Last Waltz alum Marco Benevento on piano and keyboard. Backup vocalists Hannah Cohen, Lauren Balthrop and Alecia Chakor contributed soaring harmonies; Nick Kinsey (Elvis Perkins) added drums and percussion; Justin Sullivan, a longtime Morby collaborator and staple of his live band, contributed drums; Oliver Hill and Eliza Bag lifted numerous songs with string accompaniments, and Alec Spiegelman on saxophone and flute and Cole Kamen-Green on trumpet brought dramatic swells. Finally, John Andrews (Quilt) added the eerie lilt of the album’s promise, providing saw on the “Cut Me Down” and “Singing Saw”.

 

In the end, Morby fulfills the promise many heard on his first two albums, bringing his most realized effort of songwriting and lyricism to fruition. The songs of Singing Saw reflect the clarity that comes from welcoming change and embracing duality, and the distillation of those elements into an entirely new vision.

Pre-Order Singing Saw now:
via Dead Oceans // iTunes // Amazon// Support your local independent record store

SINGING SAW TRACKLISTING
Cut Me down
I Have Been To The Mountain
Singing Saw
Drunk And On A Star
Dorothy
Ferris Wheel
Destroyer
Black Flowers
Water

 

EU TOUR DATES:
(more info and tix here)

Thu. May 5 – London, UK @ Oslo Hackney
Fri. May 6 – Paris, FR @ La Maroquinerie
Sat. May 7 – Brussels, BE @ Atelier 210
Sun. May 8 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Mon. May 9 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Tue. May 10 – Copenhagen, DK @ Copenhagen Jazzhouse
Wed. May 11 – Gothenburg, SE @ Pustervik
Thu. May 12 – Lund, SE @ @ Mejeriet
Fri. May 13 – Aarhus, DK @ RadarSar. May 14 – Hamburg, DE @ Molotow

WATCH // Bleached Share Video For “Keep On Keepin’ On,” Album Release Date For ‘Welcome The Worms’

 
April 1st sees the release of Welcome The Worms, the ambitious new rock album by Los Angeles-based Bleached. While keeping the band’s origin of cheeky, California-punk in the forefront, Welcome The Worms is a smarter, heavier, emotionally deeper Bleached.

Sisters Jennifer (vocals, guitar) and Jessie Clavin (guitar, bass) knew things were going to be different for their sophomore album – not only had they managed to charm world-renowned producer and engineer Joe Chiccarelli (Morrissey, The Strokes, Elton John) and co-producer Carlos de la Garza (Paramore, YACHT) to join them and their bassist Micayla Grace in the studio, but Jen and Jessie had been crawling out of their own personal dramas. Jessie was evicted from her house and scrambling, while Jen ended a torrid, unhealthy romance. While emotionally spinning, she dove head first into music.

“I was a loose canon,” the commanding front woman says. “I was losing serious control of my personal and creative life. I was falling apart, trying to escape. I felt like Bleached was the only thing I actually cared about.”

Throughout the record, Bleached paints a frivolous picture of Los Angeles: the life of eye­-rolling caused by dating men in bands, dirty Sunset Boulevard and futile drunken nights in a starstruck hole that made everyone from Charles Manson to Darby Crash to Marilyn Monroe stare up at the Hollywood sign for direction. Although a typical theme of ruined romance floats through the album, the real power is in Jen figuring out herself through lyrics so straight, identifiable and honest, a first for the girl who safely hid behind a cheeky misdemeanor.

“We don’t want perfection because it’s boring,” Jen declares. “We want to make music that’s as real as life.”

Watch the Lana Kim-directed video for debut single, “Keep On Keepin’ On,” which presents the essence of Welcome The Worms and Bleached’s newfound pop refinement. As described by The FADER, it’s “a sneering soundtrack to a souring relationship and a gentle reminder to keep on keepin’ on regardless.”

Bleached’s Welcome The Worms is available for pre-order now through Dead Oceans. It includes limited edition black/cream split colored vinyl, an original Bleached coloring book and Bleached patch. Bleached will tour as a four-piece all over North America this spring.

 

Pre-Order Welcome The Worms now:
via Dead Oceans // iTunes // Amazon // Support Your Local Indie Record Store

Welcome The Worms Tracklisting:
01. Keep On Keepin’ On
02. Trying To Lose Myself Again
03. Sleepwalking
04. Wednesday Night Melody
05. Wasted On You
06. Chemical Air
07. Sour Candy
08. Desolate Town
09. I’m All Over The Place (Mystic Mama)
10. Hollywood, We Did It All Wrong

Bleached Tour Dates:
(more info and tix here)

Tue. Mar. 15 – Sat. March 19 – Austin, TX @ SXSW
Tue. Mar. 29 – Santa Barbara, CA @ Velvet Jones
Wed. Mar. 30 – San Diego, CA @ Casbah
Sat. Apr. 2 – Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar
Mon. Apr. 4 – Austin, TX @ Sidewinder
Tue. Apr. 5 – Houston, TX @ Walter’s
Wed. Apr. 6 – Dallas, TX @ Three Links
Fri. Apr. 8 – Nashville, TN @ The High Watt
Sat. Apr. 9 – Atlanta, GA @ Drunken Unicorn
Mon. Apr. 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Music Hall of Williamsburg
Wed. Apr. 13 – Washington, DC @ DC9
Fri. Apr. 15 – Boston, MA @ Great Scott
Sat. Apr. 16 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz POB
Sun. Apr. 17 – Toronto, ON @ Garrison
Wed. Apr. 20 – Columbus, OH @ Double Happiness
Thu. Apr. 21 – Ferndale, MI @ Loving Touch
Fri. Apr. 22 – Chicago, IL @ Empty Bottle
Sat. Apr. 23 – Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Mon. Apr. 25 – Denver, CO @ Larimer Lounge
Tue. Apr. 26 – Salt Lake City, UT @ Kilby Court
Thu. Apr. 28 – Vancouver, BC @ Biltmore Cabaret
Fri. Apr. 29 – Seattle, WA @ Barboza
Sat. Apr. 30 – Portland, OR @ Doug Fir
Mon. May 2 – San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill
Wed. May 4 – Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room
Thu. May 5 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom
Tue. May 17 – Manchester, UK @ Gulivers
Wed. May 18 – London, UK @ Moth Club
Thu. May 19 – Brighton, UK @ The Great Escape Festival @ Horatios
Fri. May 20 – Amsterdam, NL @ Bitterzoet
Sat. May 21 – Eindhoven, NL @ Stroomhuis

Booking Agent Contact

tour dates

03/13/16

Cuauhtemoc, MX - Deportivo Lomas Atlas

03/17/16

Angers, FR - Le Chabada

03/18/16

Brest, FR - La Carene

03/19/16

La Roche-sur-Yon, FR - FUZZ'YON

03/20/16

Limoges, FR - Centre Culturel John Lennon

03/22/16

Fribourg, CH - Fri-Son

03/23/16

Zurich, CH - Bogen F
See all upcoming shows »

free downloads

video

Find Dead Oceans On:

& please subscribe to our RSS Feed